All-Star players miss out as Dublin and Mayo name unchanged teams for All-Ireland final

DESSIE FARRELL has revealed his All-Ireland final line-up for tomorrow’s Croke Park showdown with Mayo – and there’s still no place for either Brian Howard or Paul Mannion.

fficially at least, the Dublin boss has stuck with the 15 players who started their recent cakewalk win over Cavan, and that means first All-Ireland starts for Robbie McDaid, Seán Bugler and Paddy Small.

Neither Howard (a back-to-back All Star) nor Mannion (an All Star in each of the last three seasons) has started any of Dublin’s previous four outings in this delayed winter championship.

On that basis, their ongoing omission is no major surprise although the team announced this evening comes with a caveat: Farrell has made 11th hour switches to his match programme selections on three out of four occasions in this, his first SFC campaign.

He made three late changes for the Westmeath opener (promoting Eoin Murchan, Tom Lahiff and Bugler), none for the Laois game, and one apiece against Meath (recalling David Byrne) and Cavan (when Jonny Cooper was restored even though Howard had been named).

James Horan has also opted for an unchanged side for Saturday’s decider, with Cillian O’Connor in line for his 95th Mayo appearance, having made his debut against London in 2011.

DUBLIN (SFC v Mayo): S Cluxton; M Fitzsimons, D Byrne, J Cooper; E Murchan, J Small, R McDaid; B Fenton, J McCarthy; N Scully, C Kilkenny, S Bugler; P Small, C O’Callaghan, D Rock.

MAYO: D Clarke; O Mullen, C Barrett, L Keegan; P Durcan, S Coen, E McLaughlin, C Loftus, M Ruane; K McLoughlin, R O’Donoghue, D O’Connor; T Conroy, A O’Shea, C O’Connor.

Online Editors – RSS Feed