Annual Press Photographer of the Year Awards to take place in February

The 43rd annual ‘Press Photographer of the Year Awards’, the annual awards of the Press Photographers Association of Ireland, will be broadcast live on February 26.

The ceremony will be presented by broadcaster Miriam O’Callaghan, and are open to press photographers from across Ireland.

The awards are traditionally announced at a gala awards ceremony in February, but will be online this year due to Covid-19.

The virtual awards will feature recorded messages from a host of popular Irish figures and stars highlighting the importance of press photography in journalism and our society as a vital visual tool in news, views and information sharing.

This year has seen an increase in award entries, with 109 photographers entering over 2,000 images across the nine award categories.

Judging for the awards, which generally takes place in Dublin in January, was deliberated online led by chair of the judging panel, former Irish Times picture editor, Frank Miller, alongside judges Eddie Keogh, international photographer and Edmond Terakopian, international photographer and multimedia category judges Philip Bromwell, Broadcaster and Michael Lee, former RTÉ cameraman.

To mark the profound events of the past year shaped by the pandemic, members of the Press Photographers Association of Ireland are forming a historic visual record of Ireland.

The collection, which will be shortlisted by the judging panel, will go on display online as well as being offered to the National Archives and National Library System. This stark collection of historic images will pay homage to those who have lost their lives, those working tirelessly on the front line and all effected by the pandemic.

The ‘Press Photographer of the Year Awards’ awards run across nine categories; news, daily life & people, nature & the environment, politics, sports action, sports feature, portrait, art & entertainment multimedia and reportage, as well as the overall title of the Press Photographers Association of Ireland ‘Press Photographer of the Year 2021’.

The 43rd  annual Press Photographers Association of Ireland ‘Press Photographer of the Year Awards’ will be broadcast at 7p.m. on February 26 on

Dublin Gazette Newspapers – Dublin News, Sport and Lifestyle